Dear Baby

It was one month ago that my sister told me that the baby she had been carrying no longer had a heartbeat.  I was standing off in a corner of the Friendship Heights metro stop away from several other co-workers with whom I’d just had dinner.  We were on our way back to our hotel at White Flint, when I noticed I’d missed three calls from my sister.  I didn’t think that meant anything good, so I called her while we waited for our train.  She answered the phone with a tear-choked voice and let me know that my little niece or nephew to-be, was now no longer.   I was broken hearted.  After returning to my hotel room with a lump in my throat, I climbed into bed with a hotel pen and my journal.

How did we lose you

before we could even hold you?

Our nine months of waiting to meet you

have turned into a lifetime.

You captured our hearts

as quickly as you were snatched away.

On us your memory is permanently engrained

although your physical presence

was only ever a seed of hope.

You are loved, Little One,

and the tears we drop for you will

continue to grow this seed of hope

into faith

that one day we will be able to meet you face to face.

About miccahmarie

I got my first Diary when I was 10. I couldn't wait to write in it at night to divulge all of the details of my day onto paper with my turquoise pen. I now find that writing has become therapeutic for me. I need time to think and sort out what is going on inside and often when I'm most emotionally heightened is when I write most creatively. My years of journaling are a compilation of written out prayers as well as lamenting poems. Now as a wife and mother, my perspectives have changed, as I reflect on who I was and who God is making me to be.
This entry was posted in loss, sister. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dear Baby

  1. Erin says:

    I can not read this without crying, Miccah. I never will. It is beautiful and captivates all the emotions and heartache involved.
    I hope you keep writing on this blog, what a wonderful way to share what’s on your heart- in a non fb way 🙂
    I love you!

Leave a Reply

