Resolution

I woke up on January 1, 2013 with not really a resolution for a plan of action, but more of a mindset change.  I decided that I am totally content being single.  And I am worth pursuing.  It isn’t my job to make sure whatever boy I’m interested in remembers who I am and that I’m available.  It just isn’t worth my time to prove to him that I’m worth his time because for the rest of that relationship, I’d have to prove to him that he made a good decision.  I’ve done that enough in my lifetime and it only ever led to disappointment and heartbreak.  This is my new resolution.

No longer am I with baited breath

waiting for you to notice me.

The fate of my heart now indifferent

to the plucking of petals;

A bobber plunging down to the ‘he loves me not’

or floating back up to the ‘he loves me.’

At last an anchor that has been there all along

My youth and insecurity wouldn’t let me see.

About miccahmarie

I got my first Diary when I was 10. I couldn't wait to write in it at night to divulge all of the details of my day onto paper with my turquoise pen. I now find that writing has become therapeutic for me. I need time to think and sort out what is going on inside and often when I'm most emotionally heightened is when I write most creatively. My years of journaling are a compilation of written out prayers as well as lamenting poems. Now as a wife and mother, my perspectives have changed, as I reflect on who I was and who God is making me to be.
This entry was posted in confidence, heartbreak. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

