Five Minute Friday: Define

This week’s Five Minute Friday word is Define.

I think I’ve always struggled to define who I am.  The word define to me means identity.  I remember as a kid in elementary school, and at the beginning of each school year, I had to write one interesting fact about myself.  At that time, my most interesting fact was that I was 25% French, 25% Hispanic, 25% Irish, and 25% Swedish.  We all want an identity.  Something to cling to in order to present ourselves and say, “This is who I am.”  In college, I was so unsure of myself that I was like a chameleon, absorbing the most fun and interesting personalities of my friends and taking them on as my own.  And that got exhausting.  After I moved away for my first job, I had the opportunity to start over.  Completely new faces to either embrace or ignore me.  Gradually, I realized that my own personality was all I needed.  I am enough because God created me.  Others do not define me, but the Great I AM defines me.  FiveMinFri

About miccahmarie

I got my first Diary when I was 10. I couldn't wait to write in it at night to divulge all of the details of my day onto paper with my turquoise pen. I now find that writing has become therapeutic for me. I need time to think and sort out what is going on inside and often when I'm most emotionally heightened is when I write most creatively. My years of journaling are a compilation of written out prayers as well as lamenting poems. What I write here will come from both the past and the present. I'm finally comfortable enough to bare my soul, and the deep wounds are at last healed to where they're no longer raw.
This entry was posted in confidence, identity and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

