Five Minute Friday: Enough

This week’s Five Minute Friday word is Enough.

In our lives, we constantly battle with “Am I enough?”  As a single, I would wish that some boy would notice me or like me.  A few times, I was told by some boy that if it weren’t for someone else, he’d be dating me.  Now, if that isn’t a total jerk thing to say, but at the time, I was so desperate for love, that I actually bought it as a compliment.  But it would leave me hollow, wondering what those other girls had that I didn’t.  Why wasn’t I enough for that boy?

As a new mother, figuring out how to juggle feedings every two hours, diaper changes, managing to get something on the table for dinner and not running out of clean underwear, and still having some semblance of a relationship with my husband absolutely left me feeling like I could never be enough.  If I allowed too much quality time with my baby, my husband would feel left out.  If I spent too much time with my husband, my new-momma guilt would rush in.

But we ARE ENOUGH.  We are all we are meant to be to the people who love us whole heartedly and know our worth.FiveMinFri

About miccahmarie

I got my first Diary when I was 10. I couldn't wait to write in it at night to divulge all of the details of my day onto paper with my turquoise pen. I now find that writing has become therapeutic for me. I need time to think and sort out what is going on inside and often when I'm most emotionally heightened is when I write most creatively. My years of journaling are a compilation of written out prayers as well as lamenting poems. Now as a wife and mother, my perspectives have changed, as I reflect on who I was and who God is making me to be.
This entry was posted in confidence, identity, love and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Five Minute Friday: Enough

  1. leah says:

    I love your thoughts on enough—It’s especially fun when we get such a versatile prompt! Visiting from FMF; I’m parked in 38 and you can find me here: http://www.desertspiritsfire.com/2017/04/five-minute-friday-enough.html Peace and joy to you and yours!

Leave a Reply

