Five Minute Friday: Future

Tonight as I rocked my daughter to sleep, tears stung my cheeks as I thought of the night, exactly one year ago as she was placed on my bare chest.  She was warm, but clammy as she nestled in my neck that night.  Tonight, she was in her dinosaur pajamas, curly strawberry hair just under my nose with her left hand on my right shoulder.

She has changed so much in this year, going from a helpless babe who had to feed every two hours, to this independent and funny girl who can cruise around a room and up stairs with no problem.  She can feed herself and drinks water from a cup.  Soon, she will no longer need me to be the source of her milk, and will no longer fit laying in my lap.  I don’t know what her future holds, but I know I will love her as long as I have breath in my lungs.FMF-Square-Images-2

About miccahmarie

I got my first Diary when I was 10. I couldn't wait to write in it at night to divulge all of the details of my day onto paper with my turquoise pen. I now find that writing has become therapeutic for me. I need time to think and sort out what is going on inside and often when I'm most emotionally heightened is when I write most creatively. My years of journaling are a compilation of written out prayers as well as lamenting poems. What I write here will come from both the past and the present. I'm finally comfortable enough to bare my soul, and the deep wounds are at last healed to where they're no longer raw.
This entry was posted in baby, birthday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Five Minute Friday: Future

  1. Mandy Hughes says:

    It goes by so fast…can’t believe she is one year old! Love this post, Miccah. She is a lucky babe to have you as her mama ❤️

  2. nfwriter says:

    How I can resonate with you! I had three babies that are now no longer babies that fit solely in my arms or need me for their source of food. They are fiercely independent and full of ideas and ready to take on the world – or at least take over my world most days. 🙂 Enjoy every moment with your little girl!! Thanks for posting with FMF.

  3. vernette says:

    Beautiful sentiment. Linking up from FMF, thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

